Mirpur University Holds 15th Meeting of the Academic Council

Mirpur University Holds 15th Meeting of the Academic Council

Brig (R) Prof. Dr. Muhammad Younus Javed SI(M) Vice Chancellor, Mirpur University of Science and Technology (MUST), Mirpur presided 15th Meeting of Academic Council (highest Academic body of the University) on Wednesday, August 03, 2022 at 14:00 hrs in Video Conference Room of MUST City Campus.

Brigadier Younis Javed, Vice Chancellor Mirpur University expressed a warm welcome to the Members of the Academic Council. Vice Chancellor while talking to the participatents of the forum said Academic Council carries indispensable role in running the academic affairs and other duties of faculty governance of the University.

Brigadier Younis further said Mirpur University provides world-class education in diverse streams and committed to deliver the quality of education to University students.

1. Prof. Dr. Muhammad Aziz Ch

Dean, Natural & Applied Sciences (Member).

2. Prof. Dr. Syed Hassan Mujtaba

Dean, Engineering & Technology (Member).

3. Prof. Dr. Tehseen Ghous

Dean, Social Science & Humanities (Member).

4. Prof. Dr. Anwar Khitab
Dean, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences (Member).

5. Dr. Zafar Iqbal
Director, Faculty of MUST Business School (Member).

6. Prof. Dr. Shaukat Mahmood
Professor Physics (Member).

7. Principal
Ghazi Elahi Bukhsh Govt. Girls Degree College (Member).

8. Principal
Government Degree College (Boys) Mirpur (Member).

9. Dr. Muhammad Aslam
Director, Quality Enhancement Cell (Member).

10. Dr. Faisal Riaz
Director ORIC (Member).

11. Mr. Kamran Hameed
Controller of Examinations (Member).

12. Dr. Muhammad Ishtiaq
Director ASRB (Observer).

13. Mr. Muhammad Yasin
Chief Librarian (Member).

14. Prof. Dr. Khizar ul Haq
Registrar Member/ Secretary.

Chairpersons & Coordinators of the University Departments also participated as members where as members from Bhimber and Pallandri Campuses participated in the meeting through Video link.

Prof. Dr. Khazir Ul Haq, Registrar MUST/ Secretary Academic Council presented Implementation Report on the decisions of the Meeting of the 14th Academic Council, Minutes of the Meeting of 14th Academic Council and the agenda points 15th Meeting of the Academic Council for approval.

The Council considered and deliberated upon the Agenda Items of the meeting for approval. Major agenda items of the 15th meeting of AC is as follows :-

1. Extra Semesters / Extension in Degree duration.

2. Age Relaxation for Admission in Fall-2021

3. 14 Credit Hours in final Semester for issuance of DMC/ Degree.

4. Dropped Relaxations to the Students of Different Departments.

5. Conduct of Special Examination, Uploading of result on CMS Portal, Special Chance to Register Subject after One Year of Maximum Degree Duration and Extensions in Degree Duration.

6. Nomenclature on DMCS of Different Degree Programs of Home Economics Department.

7. Increase Subsidized Seats for Admission in M.Sc. Zoology.

8. Start of B.Sc. Industrial Engineering Program, List of Experiments & Correction in the Course Title.

9. Appointments of Members of AS&RB for the period of three(3) Years.

10. Degree Exit Plan (Associate Degree)

11. Approval of Minutes of 13th Meeting of AS&RB Held on 09.03.2022

The Academic Council also recommended, Endorsement of HEC Undergraduate Education Policy 2020, Recommendations of Scheme of Studies for Associate Degree Program (ADP), Recommendations for the Establishment of the Departments, Recommendation for the Constitution of the Departmental/Faculty Councils, Recommendations of Faculty Council, Faculty of Engineering & Technology, Recommendations of 4th Faculty Council Meeting, Faculty of Social Sciences & Humanities to the Syndicate / Senate of the University.

The Council showed it’s satisfaction over the running academic programmes of Mirpur University. Brigadier Younis Javed thanked all the participants & appreciated Prof. Dr Khazir Ul Haq, Registrar MUST / Secretary Academic Council, Mr. Muhammad Naveed, Deputy Registrar, Ms. Thaira Batool, Assistant Registrar and team members for holding the Academic Council professionally.