The Department of Physics was established in September, 2009 with the objective to prepare students for academic and industrial careers at the forefront of science and technology in the country. The department offers BS, M.Sc., M.Phil. and Ph.D. degree programs. The contents of the taught courses are designed to blend both theoretical and practical knowledge, with a view of nurturing skilled manpower to meet the modern standards in the field of physics and technology. The Department has two teaching Laboratories for Electronics/Solid State Physics, and Nuclear Physics/Modern Physics. The research is an integral part of the program, for promoting a research culture in the country in general and the University in particular. Presently, Department of Physics has two research laboratories, Spectroscopy Lab and Material Science Lab. Two theoretical groups: (i) Plasma Physics, and (ii) Classical & Quantum Optics are also actively contributing toward novel findings in physics. Department has also entered into collaboration and knowledge integration with National Center for Physics (NCP), National Institute for Laser and Optronics (NILOP) and Salam Chair in Physics GCU Lahore, to carry out joint research projects.

In addition to these research facilities, the Department has a well-stocked library containing more than two thousand books on Physics and related subjects. These collections concentrate on the most current teaching and research interest and make available the background knowledge to those who are interested in making headway in their respective field of research. Moreover, the Department is also provided with internet facility, which connects it with global scientific community and provide access to international journals and the digital libraries. These opportunities keep students abreast with the latest development in their respective fields.


To impart quality education in Physics with the aim to serve the nation by providing skilled human resource.